Planned towns

The Garden City movement began in the East of England region with Letchworth founded by Ebenezer Howard in 1903, and Welwyn Garden City. New Towns were established in the 1940s at Basildon, Harlow, Hatfield, Hemel Hempstead, Peterborough, Stevenage and Welwyn Garden City. To house the London overspill, Expanded Towns were established in the 1960s at Braintree, Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill, Huntingdon, King’s Lynn, Long Melford, Mildenhall, Sandy, St Neots, Sudbury, Thetford and Witham.